Linking to an External Calendar
Set up of this feature is done from the 'Instructor' tab within your account settings. For details of how to access your account settings see Changing My Account Settings.
This feature synchronises your diary within this app to an external calendar application:
- Synchronisation is one-way, from your diary within this app to your external calendar.
- Changes to your external calendar are not reflected in your diary.
- Only lesson bookings & personal appointments are synchronised.
- If you disable synchronisation we will not delete anything from your external calendar.
- It can take up to 15 minutes for changes to your diary to reflect in your external calendar.
We support linking with:
- Google Calendar
- Office 365/Outlook Calendar
Note: we only support linking with these calendars at this time. However once your diary is linked you can take full advantage of the integration options provided by these calendars. Such as synchronisation with calendar apps on Windows, Android & Apple devices.
From your account settings you can see the current status of calendar sync:
Calendar Link Not enabled
If you have not yet enabled calendar sync you should click/tap the 'Enable' link. This will show the settings popup:
Clicking/tapping the 'Authorise & Enable' link next to your chosen provider will start the authorisation & setup process.
Continue setup here:
Calendar Link Enabled
If you have previously enabled calendar sync you should click/tap the 'Change' link. This will show the settings popup:
- Change link - Start the authorisation & setup process again. This is how you can change the account or calendar you are syncing with, or solve issues related to expired credentials.
- Disable link - Stop your calendar syncing with the provider. You will need use the 'Save' button to apply your changes before syncing will be disabled. If you disable synchronisation we will not delete anything from your external calendar.
- View Sync History link - show a history of successful & failed synchronisation attempts.
Occasionally calendar synchronisation will fail. In this case a notification will be sent informing you of the failure.
Synchronisation will then be attempted every hour until it succeeds or the number of failures exceeds 4. Once 4 failures have occurred synchronisation will be disabled and a notification will be sent informing you of this.
You can see failures from the settings popup, in this case an 'Invalid credentials' error: