Recording Payments Using the Diary

Note: If your school administrator has not enabled and set up pupil payments for your school then these features will not be available.

Payment Status

There are several important symbols shown to indicate lesson payment status:

Payment - Status Symbols

Payment - Status Symbols

  1. Unpaid - no payments have been recorded for this lesson yet.
  2. Fully Paid - sufficient payments have been recorded for this lesson to cover the lesson duration.
  3. Partially Paid - some payments have been recorded for this lesson, but not enough to consider it fully paid yet.

When Booking a Lesson

To access this feature use the 'Payments' tab when booking a lesson. For help with booking lessons see Booking Lessons & Appointments.

The layout of the tab is different for the Desktop & Mobile interfaces, but the functionality remains the same.

Payment options will not be available until you choose a pupil within the 'Lesson' tab.

Book Lesson - Payments - Desktop

Book Lesson - Payments - Desktop

The adding and deleting of payments behaves as it does when changing a lesson, except for the automatic creation of payments. See When Changing a Lesson for details.

Automatic Payments On Booking

Payments are automatically added to a new lesson booking, when a pupil is assigned, in the following circumstances:

  • If the pupil is enrolled on an active course then a course payment will be automatically added to the lesson and it will have a status of Paid. To prevent this you can mark the course as inactive See Course - Active/Inactive for details.
  • If the pupil has a block with remaining, unused hours then the a block payment will be automatically added to the lesson, with the number of lesson hours being subtracted from the block. If there are sufficient hours remaining within the block then the lesson will have a status of Paid. If there are only some of the required hours remaining on the block the the lesson will have a status of Partially Paid. If you change the length of a lesson from the 'Lesson' tab then the block allocation and payment status will be automatically adjusted accordingly.
Book Lesson - Automatic Block Payments - Desktop

Book Lesson - Automatic Block Payments - Desktop

If you do not wish for the lesson to be paid as part of a block or course you can delete the automatically generated payment manually.

When Changing a Lesson

To access this feature choose the 'View & Record Lesson Payments' option from the quick view of the booked lesson you want to record progress against. You can also access this feature from the 'Payments' tab within a lesson booking.  For help accessing the diary quick view see Changing & Updating Lessons.

The layout of the tab is different for the Desktop & Mobile interfaces, but the functionality remains the same.

Change Lesson - Existing Payments - Desktop

Change Lesson - Existing Payments - Desktop

  1. Payment Status - The current payment status for the lesson. This can be changed by adding and deleting payments.  See Payment Status for more details.
  2. Remaining Hours - The number of hours which have not been paid for (if any).
  3. Add New Payment -  - tap to show a popup with various payment creation options. See New Payment Options for more details.
  4. Existing Payment -  in this case a payment made in cash at a student hourly rate.
  5. Delete Existing Payment - Deletes a payment. See Deleting Payments for more details.

You must save the changes to the lesson and it's payments using the 'Save' button for them to take effect.

New Payment Options

The new Lesson payment popup has three options to choose from:

  • Hourly Rate - allows you to charge for the time spent teaching using rates defined by your school admin. Calculated to the nearest minute. See Paying Using an Hourly Rate for more details.
  • Pre-paid Block - allows you to subtract the hours taught from a pre-paid block of a fixed number of hours. See Paying Using a Pre-paid Block for more details.
  • Course - allows you to account for the the hours taught under a fixed price course. See Paying Using a Course for more details.

The layout of the popup is different for the Desktop & Mobile interfaces, but the functionality remains the same.

Add Lesson Payment - Desktop

Add Lesson Payment - Desktop

Paying Using an Hourly Rate

  • Allows you to charge an hourly rate for lessons. 
  • Lesson charges are calculated to the nearest minute, based the number of hours being paid for.
  • You may record a partial payment. This will result in the lesson having a status of Partially Paid.
  • These are set up by a school admin.
Lesson Payment by Hourly Rate - Desktop

Lesson Payment by Hourly Rate - Desktop

  1. The hourly rate to charge. Initially set to the default for the pupil. See Pupil Direct Payments - Default Hourly Rate for more details.
  2. The amount due, minus any account credit. If all of the amount is covered by account credit you can simply hit 'Pay' to pay the lesson from account credit.
  3. Payment Method - choose 'Credit/Debit Card'  and select the 'Pay With Card Now' option for In-App Card Payments if enabled for your school.
  4. The amount to pay - this can be a partial payment.
  5. The date of payment. For some payment methods this may be a date in the past. Defaults to the current date.
  6. Shown if the 'Credit/Debit Card' payment method option is selected and you have In-App Card Payments if enabled for your school. If you are simply recording a card payment taken using an external provider choose 'Record Card Payment'.

Paying Using a Pre-paid Block

  • A fixed price for a fixed number of hours. Good for providing pre-paid block discounts.
  • Must be bought by a pupil, the number of hours reduces as more lessons are attributed to the block. See Recording Payments Using The Diary for more details.
  • You can buy a block for a pupil using the Pupil Payments Summary.

With No Existing Block/Insufficient Hours

If the pupil does not already have a block or has a block with insufficient unused hours then the popup will include a 'Buy Block' button for your convenience:

Lesson Payment by Pre-paid Block - Insufficient Block Hours - Desktop

Lesson Payment by Pre-paid Block - Insufficient Block Hours - Desktop

If the pupil does not have any block hours unused then until you buy a block the 'Add' button will not be enabled.

If the pupil has some block hours, but not enough to cover the remaining unpaid lesson hours then you can make partial payment.

Once you have bought a block the popup will behave as for an existing, block with sufficient unused hours:

With Existing Block

If the pupil already has a block with sufficient unused hours then the popup will simply allow you to confirm and add the payment:

Lesson Payment by Pre-paid Block - Sufficient Block Hours - Desktop

Lesson Payment by Pre-paid Block - Sufficient Block Hours - Desktop

The number of hours paid for will be deducted form the block and the lesson will have a status of Paid.

Paying Using a Course

  • A fixed price for an undefined number of hours. Good for providing fixed-price training courses.
  • Must be bought by a pupil and be active. An unlimited number of lessons can attributed to the course. See Recording Payments Using The Diary for more details.
  • You can buy a course for a pupil using the Pupil Payments Summary.
  • You can activate/deactivate a course for a pupil using the Pupil Payments Summary.

With No Existing Course

If the pupil does not already have an active block then the popup will include an 'Enrol on Course' button for your convenience:

Lesson Payment by Course - No Courses Enrolled - Desktop

Lesson Payment by Course - No Courses Enrolled - Desktop

If the pupil does not have an active course then until you buy a course the 'Add' button will not be enabled.

Once you have bought a course the popup will behave as for an existing active course:

With Existing Block

If the pupil already has an active course the popup will simply allow you to confirm and add the payment:

Lesson Payment by Course - Courses Enrolled - Desktop

Lesson Payment by Course - Courses Enrolled - Desktop

The lesson will have a status of Paid.

Deleting Payments

If a payment has previously been recorded for an existing lesson you can remove it. Simply open the lesson and use the delete action for the payment:

Lesson Payments - Delete a Payment - Desktop

Lesson Payments - Delete a Payment - Desktop

You must save the changes using the 'Save' button for them to take effect.

If a payment was taken using In-App Card Payments the payer's card will refunded when you save the changes. You will be reminded of this when you delete the payment.

When Cancelling a Lesson

See Changing & Updating Lessons - Cancelling a Lesson for more details regarding the cancellation of lessons, including the handling of payments.